Diwali Festivities have begun in Charleston and Srikhand is on the menu

Diwali fetivities have most certainly begun inour hometown Charleston.  My friend Sadhna and her family are starting the celebrations with a
diwali dinner party at their home and a horde of friends and their families are invited.  Now Sadhna, makes the best fruit srikhand ever.
This is light, fluffy creamy and really fruity and I can devour lots of this.  The sugary strained yoghurt and fruit form an excellent dessert
although traditionally, Srikhand is served with puffed up plain puris.  At my inlaws, Srikhand is always on the menu on Padwa (Hindu New Years day) however, they do not m ix fresh fruit into it but garnish it with
saffron, slivered almonds, cardamom and nutmeg,  pistachios.

Seeing as I will be indulging this this decadent luxury, I will share  Sadhna’s recipe in my future blogs so keep a look out.
A HUGE thanks to Sadhna for the invite and for making my  favourite sweet.

 

 

 

 

Ingredients

500 grm curd

3 tab sp  sugar

few strands saffron

Pistachios

Almond

cardomom

Nutmeg

METHOD

Hang the curds in a muslin cloth for appx 3 to 4 hrs.Whisk the curds chees  and sugar till the curd becomes smooth and fluffy.Garnish with saffron,pistachios,almond,cardomom,and nutmeg. Serve Shrikhand cold.

 

Leave a comment