Topra Pak (Coconut Ice) the Guju way

My son Vishal loves this sweet.  A very simple and delightful mithai that is so easy to cook.  Sometimes when I am in a more indulgent mood, I add a layer of chocolate to this topra pak once its set. The one thing I can say about this particular mithai is that if you love coconut as much as I do, then you will have a difficult time keeping away from the mithai tin….it is so more..ish

For a more fascinating twist you can divide the mixture (once cooked) into two or three and and a drop of food color to each portion then layer these and leave to set.

TOPRA PAAK

Grease and line a cake tin in readiness for the cooked mixture to be poured in (use a little oil to grease)

7 cups shredded coconut

3 cups sugar

1/2 pint/236 ml whipping cream.

Mix all together and  cook on medium heat, stirring continuosly for appx 15 min or until the mixture thickens and leaves the sides of pan.  Spread on a dish cool and cut in to pieces while the mixture is relatively warm (as the topra pak cools it will harden)

2 responses

  1. Jai Shree Krishna.

    Could I use fresh cream instead of whipped cream. Please reply as soon as possible as I would like to make this for Mataji in aarti in Navratri.

Leave a comment