Please save some room for dessert

Well the desi style chai/Spring Party would never be complete without something sweet and I wanted to create something colorful and refreshing.  I decided to make a Falooda Fruit cup which is very popular in our household.

Falooda is basically China grass, soaked and then cooked until dissolved in water or milk and then other ingredients are added to create a dessert suited for the occasion.  Falooda nowadays is available a wide range of flavors and mixes from good Asian grocery stores.

In my home town of Mwanza both at my parent and at my in-laws, we used to make a “set” Falooda, which is a bit like Jello (Jelly) made with milk.  In Dar-es-Salaam it was served in tall glasses, more like a slurpy with falooda noodles suspended.  To make it even more refreshing and exciting, a scoop (or three) of ice-cream would be added to this slurpy making it an exotic combination and this is the type of falooda that is commonly available in most restaurants that cater for falooda lovers around the globe.

In my recipe, I have used a readily available “badam/pista” falooda mix and just because it wouldn’t do for my friends to simply have a kawaida (regular) falooda slurpy, I decided to go all out and add some colorful Jello and freshly chopped fruit.  Please feel free to use your own favourite falooda mix, jello and fruits that you particularly like.

Here is how I made my falooda fruit cup:

(serves 10)

1 Packet ready falooda mix

milk (as per instructions on the falooda mix packet)

2 different flavours of Jello (I used strawberry and lime)

Vanilla Ice-cream (quantity as desired)

a variety of fruits chopped into small pieces ( I used grapes, cherries, apple, kiwi, mango, pineapple)

handful of pitted fresh cherries,

2 slices of pineapple

handful of grapes

1 kiwi

1 apple

Method:

make up the jello as per instructions on the packet and let it set (perhaps overnight)

make up falooda as per the instructions on the packet. Once the falodda is made keep stirring so that it doesn’t set then leave it in the fridge to kool.

When you are ready to serve, put a scoop of the chopped fruit into tall dessert / shake glasses, then pour the falooda onto the fruit so the glass is 3/4 full and top with the 2 different colored jello.  Make sure you hand a spoon and straw to your guests when you serve.

Leave a comment