BAASOONDI

Here is one of my favourite sweets to serve when I host a dinner and cook Gujarati food.  A thick, chilled baasoondi made with half and half, ricotta (oh yes ricotta cheese), condensed milk, tangerines, and some slivered almonds.

 

photo 1

Baasoondi is very popular at Gujarati banquets, we like our milk based sweets served with soft fluffy pooris however, nowadays the baasoondi doubles up as dessert. The addition of tangerines just before serving takes it up a notch or two and makes it very refreshing.  Our friends in Charleston are quite partial to a bit of baasoondi. Traditionally, baasoondi is made with whole milk and sugar which are boiled down until the milk is almost condensed.  The process requires continuous stirring and given that baasoondi is generally served at banquets, you can imagine the hard work and hours it takes for pints and pints of milk to boil down; I bet your arm hurts just thinking about it.

Time for me is at a premium here in Charleston and so I tried to device an alternative method of making the baasoondi but in a few moments rather than a few hours and I must say, I was pleased as punch with my recipe.  So here I am sharing with you, the recipe for a creamy baasoondi minus the hard slog and hours of stirring.  Do remember to serve it cold!!!

 

photo 2

 

Ingredients

16 oz  Riccota chees

1 pint whipping cream

1 can sweetened condensed milk

hand full of almonds, pistachios  cardamom ,saffron few strands .

photo 1

 

Blend all the ingredients until well mixed. Pour in the serving bowl and refrigerate .Serve chilled.

Note  Add tangerine while serving ( Optional)

I can not wait for you all to try these delicious basundi,Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment