Diwali abhinandan

 

 

 

 

 

image
:  
Diwali is one of the most popular and most celebrated events in the Hindu calendar.  It is a season of lights and joy, of gatherings, feasting, shopping and of gift giving.  The festival is celebrated over five days and each day has its own ritual, its own meaning and its own menu too.

As the festival draws near (Diwali day is on 23rd October 2014), the Jikoni is getting busier as is the Vithlani household.  I have already planned the menu for our annual dinner as well as the mithai and snacks that I will be parcelling to friends and family.

If you are planning on making any mithais or snacks, I want to remind you that you will find a lot of recipes and ideas on my 2013 Diwali posts.  Of course, if you are looking for a specific traditional gujarati snack item, then do let me know and I will try to share my recipes.

From the Jikoni, please accept our Shubhkamna in advance for the forthcoming Festival.

2 responses

Leave a comment