Naan Khatai

NAAN KHATAI

The Nan Khatai is the Indian version of Scottish shortbread,  It is a delicate melt in the mouth cookie. The dough can be mixed in minutes as it does not call for too much kneading. There are many variations of the Nan Khatai and one can use nuts, spices such as elaichi and saffon etc and even if you are not a confident baker, this Nan Khatai is easy to make.. almost baby steps to cookie baking.

In Dar-es-Salaam, our Ismaeli neighours used to bake these for Eid and special events at the Jamat Khanna.  My love for this crumbly cookie stems from tasting the wonderful creations that she often rushed round to our home, urging us to try some variation this versatile cookie.  I have to say, I was and still am fascinated by the colorful dots that adorn the Nan Khatai.  To me, the dot makes the cookie that little bit more special (and somehow tastes better too…)

photo

2 cups wheat flour

1 cup white flour

1 cup oil

2 sticks butter (melted)

1/2 cup dried coconut

1/2 cup nuts (chopped)

1 cup sugar

melt the butter,add oil in the melted butter,add sugar and combine all toghter.Add flour mix well.Dived in to appx 60 balls. Pre heat the oven and back for appx 15 min.

8 responses

  1. hey! Sandhya I am a Tanzanian and I seem to remember you especially when you used to make chana bateta on Sundays at your place in Upanga.

  2. Hi Sandhyaben I am fro Dar es salaam, in what year were you there I was born there and left Dar in 1970. Nice recepies, I am like you love cooking. I think all Dar people loves cooking. Keep it god bless.

Leave a comment